Volunteer

***

1 in 8

That’s the number of West Michigan adults who struggle with low literacy. So we have an ongoing need for volunteer tutors to work one-on-one with adult learners.

You don’t need any special skills to be a tutor—just the ability to read and write English, and a passion to help others do the same. Our Volunteer Orientation will give you everything you need to get started, and our Tutor Resources are always available.

Ready to get Started?

Fill out the Volunteer Interest form below or call 616-459-5151 to explore our volunteer opportunities.

Interested in employment? Check our Careers page.

talk bubbles 2

Spread the Word

Tell a Friend

Do the Write Thing

Donate

Volunteer Interest Form

Volunteer Orientation
Online Volunteer Orientation
Friday June 25, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation
Tuesday June 29, 2021 6:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation
Thursday July 1, 2021 10:00 am
Online Volunteer Orientation (2)
Tuesday July 6, 2021 6:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (3)
Monday July 12, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (4)
Wednesday July 21, 2021 12:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (5)
Friday July 30, 2021 10:00 am
Online Volunteer Orientation (6)
Tuesday August 3, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (7)
Tuesday August 3, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (8)
Thursday August 12, 2021 6:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (9)
Monday August 16, 2021 10:00 am
Online Volunteer Orientation (10)
Wednesday August 25, 2021 12:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (12)
Friday September 3, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (13)
Thursday September 9, 2021 6:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (14)
Wednesday September 15, 2021 12:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (15)
Friday September 24, 2021 10:00 am
Online Volunteer Orientation (16)
Thursday September 30, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (17)
Wednesday October 6, 2021 12:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (18)
Tuesday October 12, 2021 6:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (19)
Monday October 18, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (20)
Thursday October 28, 2021 10:00 am
Online Volunteer Orientation (21)
Wednesday November 3, 2021 12:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (22)
Friday November 12, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (23)
Tuesday November 16, 2021 6:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (24)
Friday November 26, 2021 10:00 am
Online Volunteer Orientation (25)
Monday November 29, 2021 6:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (26)
Friday December 3, 2021 2:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (28)
Wednesday December 8, 2021 12:00 pm
Online Volunteer Orientation (29)
Tuesday December 14, 2021 10:00 am
Online Volunteer Orientation (31)
Monday December 20, 2021 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (32)
Friday January 7, 2022 10:00 am
Volunteer Orientation (33)
Wednesday January 12, 2022 12:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (34)
Thursday January 20, 2022 6:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (35)
Tuesday January 25, 2022 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (36)
Monday January 31, 2022 10:00 am
Volunteer Orientation (38)
Friday February 4, 2022 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (39)
Thursday February 10, 2022 6:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (42)
Wednesday February 16, 2022 12:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (43)
Wednesday February 16, 2022 12:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (44)
Tuesday February 22, 2022 10:00 am
Volunteer Orientation (45)
Monday February 28, 2022 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (46)
Thursday March 3, 2022 6:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (47)
Friday March 11, 2022 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (48)
Tuesday March 15, 2022 10:00 am
Volunteer Orientation (49)
Tuesday March 15, 2022 10:00 am
Volunteer Orientation (50)
Wednesday March 23, 2022 12:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (51)
Thursday March 31, 2022 6:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (52)
Tuesday April 5, 2022 10:00 am
Volunteer Orientation (53)
Friday April 15, 2022 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (54)
Thursday April 21, 2022 6:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (55)
Wednesday April 27, 2022 12:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (56)
Thursday May 5, 2022 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (57)
Friday May 13, 2022 10:00 am
Volunteer Orientation (58)
Tuesday May 17, 2022 6:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (59)
Thursday May 26, 2022 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (60)
Wednesday June 1, 2022 12:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (61)
Friday June 10, 2022 10:00 am
Volunteer Orientation (62)
Tuesday June 14, 2022 2:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (63)
Thursday June 23, 2022 6:00 pm
Volunteer Orientation (64)
Wednesday June 29, 2022 12:00 pm

Tutor Resources

Educational Resources

Tips and tools for tutors.

Click Here

Monthly Tutor Log

Submit by the first of each month.

Click Here

Match Confirmation Form

Submit after the first meeting with your learner.

Click Here

Sign up for our email newsletter

Get the latest word on upcoming events, opportunities and achievements, delivered straight to your mailbox.